The Light still Shines

When one loses someone, the grief can weigh down and take away the essence of ones very existence. Recently,  my Uncle passed away from a heart attack while taking a shower. We have been told that he had a peaceful passing. To celebrate his life and to give strength to his family, I wrote this piece below for his funeral.

The water pours down on me
Cleanses and refreshes me
Today is the day
I am happy….he has chosen me

The water pours down on me
Through my hair and down to my toes
Today is the day
I am blessed….he wants me close

The water pours down on me
I close my eyes
I am happy….for I was dearly loved
A beautiful wife and two blessed children
I am content….for I could love
A family and a home

The water pours down on me
I can feel his warmth
Today is the day
I am joyful….for I need not say goodbye
I will always be here – close

The water pours down on me
I am confident….they will be strong
My loving wife and children
Yes, you will be strong……
For I will always be the strength in your pulse

The water pours down on me
It is time to go
I am in wonder….for I embark on a new beginning
As their guardian angel

The water pours down on me
I feel him calling and I am now one with him
I am thankful…I will always be in their hearts
I am in wonder…for I see that they too will embark on a new beginning

Together we shall embark….
Together we shall live on….
The light still shines!!!

Leave a Reply

